Split Rock Lighthouse Operated from 1910 until 1969. The Split Rock Lighthouse is located in Two Harbors, Minnesota. The lighthouse commands a panoramic view of Lake Superior from the 130 foot cliff from which it stands on. Built after a 1905 fierce storm that sank one ship nearby and more than 30 others on Lake Superior. Superior is the most unpredictable, deepest, and coldest of the Great Lakes.

 

Visitors can view films and exhibits about the lighthouse and the big lakes storms and shipwrecks.

Ore Docks The Ore Docks in Two Harbors are still in operation, which allow you to see big ships in the process of docking and unloading.

 

3M Museum Two Harbors, MN is the birthplace of 3M. The 3M Museum is located in the building that served as the headquarters until 3M moved to St. Paul, Minnesota in 1916. The museum consists of company photos, artifacts, documents, and the lab area where research and developments started for products.

 

Depot Museum The Lake County Depot Museum is located in the headquarters of the Duluth and Iron Range Railway Company and provides information to Two Harbors history and heritage. The last of the world's largest locomotives is on display here.

 

Two Harbors Kayak Festival The Two Harbors, Minnesota Kayak Festival located in Burlington Bay is fun for all and consists of four different kayak races. There is also other entertainment provided, eqipment demonstrations, live music, food, and more! August 6-8, 2010.

 

Edna G. Tugboat The Edna G Tugboat was the last coal-fired and steam-fired tugboat in operation of the Great Lakes. The Edna G. mainly moved ships and barges carrying iron ore and taconite. Tours of the ship are available.

 

Two Harbors Lighthouse The Two Harbors Ligthouse is the oldest operating lighthouse in the state of Minnesota. The lighthouse begain construction in 1892 and was completed a year later. It sits halfway between Duluth and the Split Rock Lighthouse in Two Harbors and is still and active port with two working ore docks on the waterfront. The Lake County Historical Society is using the main Lighthouse currently as a Bed & Breakfast, although its is still designated as a active aid to navigation and is on navigational charts, and as a museum.

 

3-Spot The 3-Spot is a steam locomotive built in 1883 and arrived in Two Harbors by boat. She was owned by the DM&RI's predecessor, the Duluth & Iron Range. She was the first engine to be used on the railroad from Duluth to Two Harbors.

 

Mallet Steam Engine The Mallet Steam Engine #229, also known as the Yellowstone, built in 1943 was one the largest locomotives made. It was used to transport materials during the war and later switched to ore hauling between the Iron Range, Two Harbors, Duluth/Proctor when the war was over. The Mallet is considered an example of a slow-drag freight articulated locomotive because, although slow, the Mallet was powerful and able to haul mile-long trains of iron ore.

 

Cross River Heritage Center Located in Shroeder, MN the Cross River Heritage Center is a place to learn and experience about the local North Shore heritage and culture.Click here to visit site.